Finalists announced for YDP final

Finalists announced for YDP final


Preparation is in full swing for this year’s Aberdeen-Angus Cattle Society Youth Development Programme Final, which takes place in Northern Ireland at the home of James Porter’s highly successful Old Glenort herd on the 26th – 28th September. The final will see successful participants who have scored well at various workshops held across the UK and Ireland throughout the summer compete with the senior age group competing for a subsidised Angus study trip to a country of their choice (see list of finalists below).

ydp final main

udges for this year’s final include Devon-based Michael Kirby who will be taking charge of the clipping and dressing. Michael has had vast success in the pedigree and commercial rings and is often seen on the halter of winning home bred native beasts at winter fatstock shows. He also runs a herd of Aberdeen-Angus cattle.

Ring craft judge for this year will be Paul Walker. This successful pedigree breeder and freelance stockman has been on the halter of numerous successful cattle in the past and has judged at many high profile shows in the years, including the British Blues at this year’s Royal Welsh Show.

Taking care of the stock judging section will be Alistair Albutt. Better known in the commercial world, Alistair helped out at workshop this summer so is already aware of how the YDP operates. Meanwhile, the panel interview for the seniors will include Society chief executive Ron McHattie, YDP chairman Mark Pilcher and YDP trainer William Haire.

Massive congratulations to all those below who have qualified. A full time table of events will be published on the website in due course.

Juniors (12): 
Conor Craig – Mohill
Robbie Wills – Netherton
Shona Andrew – Duncanziemere
James Adam – Netherton
Robbie Moore – Shadwell
Holly Lutkin – Shadwell
Will Ludgate – Aynho
Niall Quinn – Northern Ireland
Ian Lockhead  Anderson – Glassel
Ben McSporran – Netherton
Sam Matchett – Northern Ireland
Archie Hill – Melview

Intermediates (16):
Angus MacLean – SE
Joe Clark – SE
James McComb – Northern Ireland
Donald MacLean – SE
Mark Wattie – Glassel
Laura Green – Glassel
Hayley Massie – Glassel
John McCulloch – Netherton
Millie Hendy – Melview
Grace Cruickshanks – Duncanziemere
Seonaid McLaren – Jerusalem
Andrew Adam – Netherton
James Rea – Northern Ireland
Ruth Perry – SE
David Rea – Northern Ireland
Pippa White – Rull

Seniors (8):
Jamie Rettie – Netherton
Stephanie Dick – Netherton
Thomas Blackburn – Aynho
Ashleigh Fenwick – Jerusalem
John Brown – Glassel
Duncan Morrison – Glassel
Claire Beal – Jerusalem
Thomas Slowen – Jerusalem

Share on Social Media
Aberdeen-Angus Cattle Society Youth Development Program