Liss Herd wins the All-Ireland Aberdeen-Angus Championship for 2019

Liss Herd wins the All-Ireland Aberdeen-Angus Championship for 2019


The annual All-Ireland Aberdeen-Angus Championships were staged at the Dualla Show over the weekend with a large showing of cattle catalogued for the final major event of the summer season. All four provinces were represented on the day with the central location of this year’s finals venue proving popular amongst exhibitors. Univet acted as major sponsors for the event again this year and provided highly sought after Univet products to each of the winners in addition to the very substantial prize money that was on offer in each section. Judge for the occasion was Mr. Bernhard Delle from Germany and his appointment for judging duties marked the first time a non-Irish judge had officiated over proceedings in some years.

The supreme Aberdeen-Angus championship for 2019 was awarded to John & Sean McEnroe, Liss, Oldcastle, Co Meath with their intermediate stock bull, Mogeely Dreamer T534. This 23 month old bull is one of a number of stock bulls in use for the Liss Aberdeen-Angus herd and was purchased at the Irish Aberdeen-Angus Association Premier Sale in Carrick-On-Shannon last November. This one is sired by Wedderlie Blackbox J935, himself the All-Ireland Aberdeen-Angus Champion back in 2016 and is out of Mogeely Daisy L159 who is a daughter of Mogeely Joe H979. The Liss Aberdeen-Angus herd have won the All-Ireland Aberdeen-Angus championships several times previously and also held the distinction of exhibiting the largest number of cattle at this year’s championships too.

Supreme Aberdeen-Angus Champion, Mogeely Dreamer.

The reserve supreme Aberdeen-Angus championship went to John & Kate Tait, Westwood, Rostellan, Midleton, Co Cork with their heifer calf, Westellen Dana U840. This one also took the overall junior Aberdeen-Angus championship on the day to stand on top of a very well contested junior section. This 11 month old heifer is sired by Shadwell Jafar Eric N658 and also took the reserve Munster Aberdeen-Angus junior female of the year prize earlier in the month. Judge Bernhard Delle commented on his final championship line-up, saying that both his champion and reserve were ‘medium sized, well developed cattle that were representative of both the Aberdeen-Angus breed and what the consumer and processors demand and expect from Aberdeen-Angus cattle’.

Supreme Aberdeen-Angus Reserve, Westellen Dana.

The reserve senior Aberdeen-Angus championship went to Matthew & Rita Goulding, Kilmore, Ballyduff, Tralee, Co Kerry with Goulding R Missie 963. This yearling heifer has just reached her 1st birthday and was one of the youngest animals in contention for the overall senior title. This one is the latest in a long line of success stories for the Missie cow family at Goulding Aberdeen-Angus and is sired by Netherallan Peter Pershore E052.

Reserve senior champion, Goulding R Maisie.

The reserve junior Aberdeen-Angus championship went to Cathal & Cormac Duignan, Laheen House, Eslin Bridge, Carrick-On-Shannon, Co Leitrim with their senior bull calf, Laheens Rock and Roll. This 11 month old bull was sired by the legendary AI sire, Bohey Jasper and marked the second time in as many years that the Duignan Family have secured the reserve junior championship at the All-Ireland Aberdeen-Angus finals.

Reserve junior champion, Laheens Rock and Roll.


Senior Aberdeen-Angus bull born before 01.09.2017

  1. Albert & Jennifer DeCogan’s Cheeklaw Jake Eric R535 by Cardona Proud Punch L752
  2. Pat & Finbarr Cahill’s Drumhill Lord Harry R635 by Nightingale Proud Jake G405
  3. Dr. Michael Sheahan’s Luddenmore El Diablo T328 by Friarstown Praire Cloud N250

Cheeklaw Jake Eric.

Intermediate Aberdeen-Angus bull born between 01.09.2017 – 31.08.2018

  1. John & Sean McEnroe’s Mogeely Dreamer T534 by Wedderlie Blackbox J935
  2. Bryan O’ Halloran’s Schivas Elijah U645 by Weeton Ronan P420
  3. Bernard Kerins’ Kerins Revolver by Lanigan Red Deep Canyon
  4. Albert & Jennifer DeCogan’s Laheens Reputation by Weeton Diamond Mine P444

Senior Aberdeen-Angus bull calf born between 01.09.2018 – 31.12.2018

  1. Cathal & Cormac Duignan’s Laheens Rock and Roll by Bohey Jasper
  2. Cathal & Cormac Duignan’s Laheens Rolls Royce by HF Rebel 53Y
  3. Thomas Beirne’s Drumbeera Everest U241 by Caulry Nationwide
  4. John & Kate Tait’s Westellen Black Bush U839 by Bova Lord Bonanza N266

Junior Aberden-Angus bull calf born between 01.01.2019 – 31.03.2019

  1. Matthew & Rita Goulding’s Goulding V William 993 by Glenade Prince Callan
  2. John & Sean McEnroe’s Liss Mandrin V847 by Mogeely Lord Harrow M191
  3. Michael & Barry Smith’s Lawsons Ford Lord Hennessy V433 by Friarstown Evolver N274
  4. Tom Reynolds’ Knockadrinan Santa by Drumgowna Norman

Goulding V William.

Mixed sex Aberdeen-Angus calf born after 01.04.2019

  1. Thomas Beirne’s Drumbeera Lady Talia V250 by Caulry Nationwide

Drumbeera Lady Talia.

Placings 2-4 to follow

Senior Aberdeen-Angus cow with calf at foot born before 31.12.2016

  1. Albert & Jennifer DeCogan’s Knockadrinan Blackbird P599 by Nightingale Dunbarr K551
  2. Albert & Jennifer DeCogan’s Mogeely Miylo P291 by Rosemead Karona J957
  3. John & Sean McEnroe’s Liss Minree P415 by The Moss Ethelorance L132
  4. Edward Dudley’s Castlelough Mystic Buffy N133 by Clontead Ecco

Knockadrinan Blackbird.

Junior Aberdeen-Angus cow with calf at foot born after 01.12.2016

  1. John & Sean McEnroe’s Liss Biluri T693 by Mogeely Lord Harrow M191

Liss Biluri.

Senior Aberdeen-Angus heifer born between 01.09.2017 – 28.02.2018

  1. Michael & Barry Smith’s Lawsons Ford Lady Helly U411 by Friarstown Evolver N274
  2. Eustace & Deirdre Burke’s Clontead Lady Hotshot T243 by Shadwell Jafar Eric N658
  3. Liam McEvoy’s Rath Osheen R Lady Jeey by Bunratty John G Dram

Intermediate Aberdeen-Angus heifer born between 01.03.2018 – 31.08.2018

  1. Matthew & Rita Goulding’s Goulding R Missie 963 by Netherallan Peter Pershore E052
  2. John Barlow
  3. Tom Reynolds’ Knockadrinan Ruby by Drumgowna Norman
  4. Matthew & Rita Goulding’s Goulding R Philippa 919 by Oakchurch Dirk

Senior Aberdeen-Angus heifer born between 01.09.2018 – 31.12.2018

  1. John & Kate Tait’s Westellen Dana U840 by Shadwell Jafar Eric N658
  2. Eustace & Deirdre Burke’s Clontead Pamela U265 by Aynho Rossiter Eric B125
  3. Tom Reynolds’ Knockadrinan Ruda by Drumgowna Norman
  4. John & Sean McEnroe’s Liss Kim V835 by Netherton Americano M703

Junior Aberdeen-Angus heifer born between 01.01.2019 – 31.03.2019

  1. Matthew & Rita Goulding’s Goulding V Patriot 988 by Glenard Prince Callan

Goulding V Patriot.

Placings 2-4 to follow

Best matching pair of Aberdeen-Angus cattle

  1. Cathal & Cormac Duignan

1st prize winning pair.

Placings 2-4 to follow

Junior young stockperson (aged under 17 years on 01.01.2019)

  1. Colin Bourke
  2. Cillian Barlow
  3. Darragh Barlow
  4. Steven McEvoy

1st prize junior young stockperson, Colin Bourke.

Senior young stockperson (aged 17 – 27 years on 01.01.2019)

  1. Marie McFadden
  2. Bryan O’ Halloran
  3. Christopher Clinton
  4. Jack Goulding

1st prize senior young stockperson, Marie McFadden.

Some additional photography from the event:

Share on Social Media
Aberdeen-Angus Cattle Society Logo Cattle Only