NI Club Herd competition winners announced

NI Club Herd competition winners announced


The Ni Aberdeen-Angus Club recently celebrated the success of club members at the annual herd competition BBQ following the judging that took place this summer across the country by Irish Aberdeen-Angus breeder Louis Byrne of the Tomriland herd, Bray, Co Wicklow.

Leading the way in the small herd’s section of the competition, which was sponsored by Danske Bank, was Kenneth Cartmill of the Drumnahunshin herd, Whitecross, Co Armagh.

 MG 5135

The 2015 calf crop for the herd, which was established in 2004, is by the 7000gns AI sire Thrunton Rocket L282 and leading Australian performance AI sire Ardrossan Admiral A2. 

Meanwhile in the medium section, Robert Sufferin took the top spot with his Tamneymullan herd, based at Maghera, Co Londonderry. Established in 2004, the herd’s current calf crop is by S A V Brave, Mogeely Joe H979, 15S BJ’s No Limits, 

MG 5143 

Then winning the large herds section was Alan Cheney of the Lana herd, Trillick, Co Tyrone. Alan, a NI representative on the Society’s Council has had great success in the show ring winning major championship titles at the NI Calf Show in November in previous years. His current calf crop is by Nightingale Playfair K527, Blackhaugh Easy Papa G728, Te Mania Emperor E343 and the home bred sire Lana Knight N476.

MG 5156 

Taking the silverware for the best cow family was the brother and sister duo of Sam and Sarah Matchett, along with parents Nigel and Gail, based at Portadown, Co Armagh. The Lady Jane line originates from the successful show cow Carrigroe D Lady Jane who has won countless show championships over a number of years.

MG 5171 

Next up and winning the award for the best stock bull was Maghera, Co Londonderry-based Michael Lagan of the Macknagh Mills herd who won with his senior herd sire Blelack Evermore J231. This May 2009-born son of Blelack Blackstock A227 is out of Blelack Evora Z491 has been a coveted winner on the NI show circuit over the last couple of years nothing up championship wins at various regional shows.

MG 5161 

Then taking the award for the best calf was Augher, Co Tyrone-based Margaret Buchanan with a heifer calf by Bunlahy John G from her Sess herd.

MG 5166

Full results:

Small herd

1 Kenneth Cartmill, Drumnahunshin herd               

2 Mr and Mrs E McClelland, Brookhall herd     

3 Mark Clements, Clementhill herd                     

 NI small herd winners

Medium herd

1 Robert Sufferin, Tameymullan herd

2 Alan and Naomi Morrison, Drumeer herd

3 Hylda Mills, Dartrey herd

MG 5142 

Large herd

1 Alan Cheney, Lana herd

2 Victor Wallace, Baronagh herd

3 Rory Best, Loughans herd 

 MG 5151

Best cow family

1 S and S Matchett, Lady Jane family

2 Victor Wallace, Edwina family

3 Alan and Naomi Morrison, Pollyanna family

Stock bull

1 Michael Lagan’s Blelack Evermore J231

2 Freddie Davidson’s Birches Lord John M052

3 Desmond Martin’s Drumhill Jay Eric M607 

Best calf

1 Margaret Buchanan’s heifer calf by Bunlahy John G

2 Tommy Jackson’s heifer calf by Netherton Mr Brazilian

3 Victor Wallace’s heifer calf by Cambusbarron Punch