Connaught/Leinster herds competition winners announced

Connaught/Leinster herds competition winners announced


The prize-giving awards evening of the annual Counaught/Leinster Aberdeen-Angus Club herds competition took place at the Lakeside Manor Hotel, Virginia, Co. Cavan over the weekend. The club enjoyed an increased entry that was well up on last year’s inaugural competition, with particularly strong entries across the small and medium herds categories.

The Connaught/Leinster Aberdeen-Angus Club would like to thank Mr. Gerry Smith of Angus Beef Ireland for their continued generous sponsorship of the competition and for his presence on the night to present the prizes.

Judge for this year’s competition, Mr. Edward Dudley of the Castlelough Aberdeen-Angus herd paid tribute to the hospitality and generous welcome he received throughout his three-day trip across the region and complimented all of the entrants on the consistently high standard of cattle viewed across all of the participating herds.


Dermot Lynch, Tomriland, Roundwood, Co. Wicklow took pole position in the small herds category with his Tomriland Aberdeen-Angus herd. This herd was the recipient of the 2017 Leinster Provincial Trophy at the Tinahely summer show in August and was one of the few distinguished herds selected to represent the breed at the recent National Ploughing Championships in Tullamore.

Michael Smith, Market Street, Cootehill, Co. Cavan claimed the top spot in the medium herds section with his well-established and successful Lawsons Ford Aberdeen-Angus herd. This herd displayed tremendous cattle throughout all age categories and is currently using the stock bull Friarstown Evolver N274 to great effect as well as producing some of the first pedigree calves born in Ireland off the exciting new AI bull, Weeton Diamond Mine P444.

John McEnroe, Liss, Oldcastle, Co. Meath took top honours in the large section with the Liss Aberdeen-Angus herd. One of the stops on the World Angus Forum visit to Ireland, the Liss herd has wracked up an impressive list of awards and accolades in recent times and is the home of several reigning National and All-Ireland prize winners and champions. The Liss herd also won the special prize for the best stock bull with senior stock bull, Mogeely Lord Harrow M191 who has produced many prize-winning and top priced progeny over the last number of years.

Barry Smith, Cootehill, Co. Cavan won the award for the Best Cow Family with the Lawsons Ford Lady Haddow cow line. This particular family line also won this same prize last year and currently comprises of three generations of females, including the original cow that founded this female line at Lawsons Ford, who is still going strong several years later.

Mick Culkeen, Gortnagoyne, Dunmore, Co. Galway took home the prize for the best bull calf with the September 2016 born, Blackfield Lord Sandy S557. This one is by Rawburn Edge J983 and is off the Lady Sandra cow line, which also originated from the Rawburn Aberdeen-Angus herd.

John Brady, Lisnafanna House, Virginia, Co. Cavan won the last award of this year’s competition, scooping the best heifer calf prize with Lisnafanna Darling S034. This one was born in December 2016 and has been shown with considerable success during the summer at local level.


Small Herds Section

1st: Dermot Lynch – Tomriland Herd

2nd: John Brady – Lisnafanna Herd

Medium Herds Section

1st: Michael Smith – Lawsons Ford Herd

2nd: Louis Byrne – Tomriland Herd

Large Herds Section

1st: John McEnroe – Liss Herd

2nd: Mrs JV Bird – Dunlever Herd

Best Stock Bull: John McEnroe’s Mogeely Lord Harrow M191

Best Cow Family: Barry Smith’s Lawsons Ford Lady Haddow family

Best Bull Calf: Mick Culkeen’s Blackfield Lord Sandy S557

Best Heifer Calf: John Brady’s Lisnafanna Darling S034

The Connaught/Leinster Aberdeen-Angus Club would like to thank each of this year’s participants and congratulate each of the winners. The club is always seeking new members and anyone interested in joining the club should contact club secretary, Ciaran Gorman on 086 3918988 at your convenience. 

Image details: The winners and runners-up in the Connaught/Leinster Aberdeen-Angus Herds Competition. Also included in the photo are Mr Gerry Smith, Angus Beef Ireland (major sponsor), Mr Gerry Lynch, Chairman Connaught/Leinster Aberdeen-Angus Club and Mr Edward Dudley, Judge of this year’s competition.